Living Your Dash

tombstoneRecently, after attending a funeral, I have been reminded of how fleeting life can be. That experience combined with turning the big 5-0 (fifty) in two weeks, has me quite contemplative, as I reflect on the seasons of my life and the impact for Christ I want to leave behind.

The book of James tells us that our life is but a vapor! Our life on this earth is so momentary. I love how Psalms 39:4-5 puts it,

“LORD, remind me how brief my time on earth will be. Remind me that my days are numbered—how fleeting my life is.”

It’s important that we remind ourselves that we are never promised tomorrow and that we should spend our days on things that truly matter….God and people.

This is one of my favorite poems:

The Dash

by Linda Ellis copyright 1996

“I read of a man who stood to speak

At the funeral of a friend.

He referred to the dates on her tombstone

From the beginning…to the end.

He noted that first came her date of birth

And spoke the following date with tears,

But he said what mattered most of all

Was the dash between those years.

For that dash represents all the time

That she spent alive on earth…

And now only those who loved her

Know what that little line is worth.

For it matters not, how much we own;

The cars…the house…the cash,

What matters is how we live and love

And how we spend our dash.

So think about this long and hard…

Are there things you’d like to change?

For you never know how much time is left,

That can still be rearranged.

If we could just slow down enough

To consider what’s true and real,

And always try to understand

The way other people feel.

And be less quick to anger,

And show appreciation more

And love the people in our lives

Like we’ve never loved before.

If we treat each other with respect,

And more often wear a smile…

Remembering that this special dash

Might only last a little while.

So, when your eulogy’s being read

With your life’s actions to rehash…

Would you be proud of the things they say

About how you spent your dash?”

It not the things we get in this life but the hearts we touch, that will determine the success of our “Dash”.

Let’s make our lives count for God. When we draw our last breath, let’s make sure this world is a different place because we allowed God to love through us, as we were HIS hands and feet extended to the people in our world!!!

Let our prayer be Psalms 90:12 (TLB) “Teach us to number our days and recognize how few they are; help us to spend them as we should.” ~Susie

One thought on “Living Your Dash

  1. Pattie Costa

    Thank you, Pastor Susie. You and Pastor Greg have significantly changed my life. Valley is where I was meant to be all along. I don’t know what I was waiting for, but I finally listened to “that voice”. God bless you both. You make such an important impact on so many.
    I am very grateful for you both.

    Like

Leave a Reply

